Project Proposal

What do you want your project to focus on? (HOW/WHAT/WHY)  I want my video to focus on the difference between movies rated PG-13 and R, leading up to the supposedly very popular notion that PG-13 movies are now more violent than R movies, and why that could possibly be true and if I have time, address if there is some kind of consequence with it.  That part will be in the end, though.  I’ll do this with a voice over talking about certain sections while showing clips of videos that are rated PG-13 or R.  I’ll even end it while showing movies that were rated R with their remakes that have rated PG-13.

What type of video essay will you create? (VIDEO STRUCTURE)  A talking video essay, with images over a voice-over.  If I’m feeling edgy, I’ll try and do a supercut on top of these voice-overs.  But that might be a bit much.

What raw materials will you need for the project?  I’ll need clips of movies that are rated PG-13 and R because that will take up the majority of the video (to prove my point) while having some still images of articles and other information concerning this issue.

Who will be the audience for your project?  I’m planning on aiming toward a casual YouTube audience, so I’ll have a casual tone of voice.

What skills/software do you expect to use?  Honestly, I’m not quite sure.  I’m not too perfect with video editing software, and my computer hates microphones.

Additionally: which skills and software tools would you like to have a better handle on?  All of them, to be honest.

What do you expect to work on in each of the coming weeks? (TIMELINE)  The first week or two will be aimed toward writing a script and finding the clips that I want to use.  The reason why I want to do something this simple for the first week or so is because I have a final coming up and I’ll want to focus on that.  If I find a video editing software that my computer can handle, I’ll edit it on the days that I’m not on campus.  The days I’m in class on Thursdays is when I go record my voice for the information.  All the other times I’ll try to edit the video and rework the script.  I should be able to figure it out after that final, though.

Any help/feedback you’d like from your peers or myself?  Editing problems, to be sure.  And maybe something to pad out time.  Script wise, I should be fine.

Leave a comment